Posted by: turtlebella | 9 August 2007

Go tortoise go

Amusing thing I heard this morning on NPR– about a tortoise who escaped its pen at a Virginia zoo. My little namesake managed to go 20 yards in seven hours, ending up in bamboo patch.mtn-tortoise.jpg

What no one opined is that maybe that bamboo patch is where the tortoise wanted to end up all along. Maybe it got there in the first 20 minutes (averaging 1 yard per minute) and then was just wallowing. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. We turtles (and tortoises) have got to stand up for each other, after all.

(photo from the Hilo Zoo, http://www.hilozoo.com/animals/AR_tortoise.htm)


Responses

  1. I hadn’t heard that story! Poor tortoise–such determination!

  2. I know, right– that’s some kind of determination, to just keep on going even as slow as that!

  3. Hee hee!

    I was at the zoo recently with my 4yo and we spent more time watching the turtles than anything else, because they were just so cute! I had no idea…


Leave a Reply

Categories

