Posted by: turtlebella | 17 February 2007

Calling all bookish types!

I’ve been meaning to blog books for awhile now. There’s a couple post that have been floating around in my brain somewhere. If only writing a post in your head counted (I’ve stolen this idea from Kate Atkinson who wrote it in Emotionally Weird; if my books were unpacked I’d quote it but as it is…)!

Instead, I have for you a book list meme. Of course, the list is odd and includes all kinds of things and excludes all kinds of things (like, uh, women of color?!). This meme comes via Classical Bookworm who got it from(Cinn)Imani. Here’s how it works (and I’ve added a modification or so) :

Books I’ve read
Books I want to or believe I should read
Books I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole
Books on my bookshelves
? Books I’ve never heard of
# Books I’ve seen in movie or TV form
! Books I’ve blogged about
* Books I count among my favorites
Books I’m indifferent to

1. #The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
2. # Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen) [please see the recent very funny and jokey blogging about the movie versions of this over at Women of Color. Dying.just.dying of laughter. Who said radical women of color don’t have senses of humor?!]
3. # To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. # Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. # The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7. # The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
8. #* Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery) [practically single-handedly taught me that it was okay to be smart, opinionated, outspoken, and independent]
9. ? Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. ? A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. # Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16. #* Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
17. ? Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. # Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)
20. #* Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) [saw some really old movie version when in high school; feel like it shouldn’t count, really]
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien) [read part of it in 5th grade; couldn’t stand it; heresy, I know]22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. # East of Eden (John Steinbeck) [ahh! James Dean!]
30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand) [oh dear, wanted to create new thingy just for this book. This is my all time most hated book, my all time most hated author. Really this is the only author in that category though. I threw this book across the room in disgust and anger so many times that I started to get worried the person I borrowed it from would make me buy him a new copy. At least it sits not on my shelves, contaminating all my other books with its evilness. I told you I hated it.]
34. 1984 (George Orwell)
35. #* The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. ? The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. # The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible [parts]
46. * Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver) [love Kingsolver as much as I hate Rand! But this isn’t my favorite]
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) [Don’t really like Dickens. Thank you, I don’t need to be depressed]
53. ? Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. #* The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence) [I have a feeling I’ve read this, but not sure]
57. # Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58. #* The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough) [Unlike Classical Bookworm, I thought Richard Chamberlin was not as sexy as I thought Ralph should be, based on the book]
59. *! The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65. ? Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. * One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez) [read it in Spanish! In high school, of course. Couldn’t read the first page now if I tried all day]
67. ? The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. # Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez) [in translation]
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. # The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. ? The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. * A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith) [for some reason I really resisted reading this when I was young. When I finally gave in I remember just adoring it]
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving) [I really shouldn’t read books that are the favorite books of my friends, see #33 above. I read this in 8th grade and it filled me with a great sense of self-loathing and disgust for everyone else. Not exactly what I am looking for in fiction! And it makes me not want to read Irving. Or any of the authors that I confuse him with- John Updike]
79. ? The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. # Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White) [who hasn’t?; saw the old movie, not the new one]
81. ? Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. * Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. * Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. ? Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. # Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. * The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. ? Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. ? In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. # The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. #* The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. ? A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce) [but I have my doubts as to whether I really will]


Responses

  1. OMG you’re a harry potter fan??????? Ok, like, we’re totally gonna have to blog about the new book!!!!! are you freaking about the new book? my brain will explode if I try to guess even one more time what the hell is going to happen!!!!!

  2. yes! yes! yes! i am totally a harry potter fan!!!! love harry potter. cannot wait for the new book but also just so upset that there won’t be a new one after that. what will i do with all my harry potter love???? i am very very bad at predicting what is going to happen. i am always wrong…jk, she’s just too wily for me…

  3. beyond too wily for me :-)
    I didn’t see the horcruxes happening at all–but apparently everybody on the message board i read were very blase about it all–of *course* she was going horcruxes. it all makes perfect sense.

    Apparently, harry is supposed to be a horcrux now, although I don’t know how that is possible.

    oh, and did you like lupin with tonks??? I hated that, I felt like she’d been reading way too many shipper fights/message boards andt hought it would be funny or something to include that.

    doesn’t she know that lupin is supposed to get together with some chick named bfp? LOL.

  4. A horcrux?! Yeah, I don’t think so either. I dunno how that would happen. (but yeah, i’m dumb!)

    My favorite idea is that Dumbledore is still alive. Although I can’t quite remember all the twists and turns that my brain had to go into to get there…

    I like Tonks and I adore Lupin, but maybe not as a couple. I too- crush on Lupin!!! He’s so perfectly not perfect. Want to save him!!! :)

  5. Fascintating list. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in my loathing of Ayn Rand or Dan Brown. You should try Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. I can’t believe you’ve never read Ender’s Game. Do. And Speaker for the Dead (which is the better book). Oddly enough, Outlander is on my nightstand waiting to be read. Historical Scottish romance. Go figure.

    Don’t get me started on Harry Potter. :) I have yet to reserve my copy, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

