Posted by: turtlebella | 12 December 2006

Four more days

Including today, I have four official days left at my-life-as-an-academic work. Why do these seem like they might be the longest, most grueling days of my whole academic career? I know intellectually that they are not; after all, I yelled ‘fuck’ at one of my committee members during my dissertation defense, so clearly that day was pretty grueling! And I know I should be happy that I am almost done.  But somehow, I dread these days as much as if there were forty of them.

Yesterday, I did a Nia* class on video (since my town, in all of its glory doesn’t have Nia classes, six different belly dancing classes, yes, but no Nia). You may recall that I want to become a teacher of Nia in my next life.  And then I went to lunch by myself with a book. I was so happy during those two hours. And that happiness juxtaposed to my current feeling of dread about work. Well, it’s really stark. And it does remind me that I am doing the right thing by quitting.  But I wish I was done already.

*Nia (Neuromuscular Integrative Action) is this wonderful, wacky, exhilirating movement practice that combines various kinds of dance arts (jazz, modern, and Duncan) with various kinds of martial arts (tai chi, tae kwan do, aikido), and healing arts (Feldenkrais, Alexander Technique, and Yoga). It’s a workout yes but so much fun, I’m always finding myself grinning when I practice.

Responses

  1. during your dis defense you shouted ‘fuck’? dis defense as in the PhD defense (dissertation over here is something you do for BA. Masters and PhD is a thesis)?
    Cos if that is so then my God you rock.

  2. Yup, it was a PhD defense, Nimue (we are the exact opposite, BA- thesis, MA- thesis, PhD- dissertation, although you sometimes hear thesis for PhD too). Yeah, I was really really angry because one of my members was being a total ass. And I’d just HAD enough already. We had to take a break after that. It’s pretty funny now, looking back on it. But I may be the only person to do this in the history of graduate school and I say, I did it for all of us (& the future you)! :)

  3. Oooh, now I’m inspired.

    Speaking of jobs you hate, my in-laws like to claim, ‘You can do anything for X Time!’ – ranging from two days to two years. To which I say: hah.

    Happy counting down and hopes for greener pastures soon!

  4. What?

  5. combines various kinds of dance arts (jazz, modern, and Duncan) with various kinds of martial arts (tai chi, tae kwan do, aikido), and healing arts (Feldenkrais, Alexander Technique, and Yoga).

    now that sounds like a wild workout!

  6. For the record, turtle, you became a grad school HERO and LEGEND when you told said academic-total-ass, “You gotta be fucking kidding!”

    I still tell people about that! I’m grinning right now just thinking about it! You ROCK!!!

    happy st patty’s day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

