Posted by: turtlebella | 9 October 2006

Are the Waltons decent people?

On Friday‘s Fresh Air Andy Stern* (president of SEIU) said, “I’m sure the Waltons [of Wal-Mart] are decent people” and then goes on to tell us that the five members of the family have $19 billion each.  Given that they have that much money and continue to ruthlessly exploit their workers so they can, uh, make more money, I DO NOT think they are decent people. Just wanted to say.

*Andy Stern a good guy, even if I do disagree with him on this small item.

Responses

  1. I think I am going to have to agree with you on this one. Now Bill Gates – he is starting to seem like a decent person.

  2. I agree, Bill Gates has gone up in my opinion lately.

  3. On the other hand, they’re single-handedly keeping the upper northwest corner of Arkansas from slipping into the poor, bitter, uneducated mess the rest of the state is in. (Hey, I’m not making fun of Arkansas. I happily lived in the poor, bitter, uneducated mess for three years. I used to justify shopping at Wal-Mart by saying I was at least helping the Northwest part of the state… unfortunately, we were in the Northeast part. Then we moved.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

