Posted by: turtlebella | 19 September 2006

War and Rape. Part II. Darfur

Related to the post below, and inspired by Phantom Scribbler.  Quite a lot of rape has been occurring in Darfur, Sudan as part of the Sudanese government’s (and a government-backed milita) fight against rebel groups. Women, girls, boys, prenant women are being raped. In the spirit of acknowledging that personal testimony is more powerful than any statistics or numbers I offer the below (from Amnesty International)

“I was sleeping when the attack on Disa started. I was taken away by the attackers, they were all in uniforms. They took dozens of other girls and made us walk for three hours. During the day we were beaten and they were telling us: “You, the black women, we will exterminate you, you have no god.” At night we were raped several times. The Arabs guarded us with arms and we were not given food for three days.”  – A female refugee from Disa[Masalit village, West Darfur]

    “When we tried to escape they shot more children. They raped women; I saw many cases of Janjawid raping women and girls. They are happy when they rape. They sing when they rape and they tell that we are just slaves and that they can do with us how they wish.” -A, aged 37, from Mukjar

    One 18-year old women from Muray was raped and subsequently lost her baby.

    S., from Disa, was raped by a soldier despite being pregnant. She is now the mother of four children, having given birth recently to the boy she was carrying while she was raped.

    “I was with another woman, Aziza, aged 18, who had her stomach slit on the night we were abducted. She was pregnant and was killed as they said: “it is the child of an enemy.” –A woman of Irenga ethnicity from the village of Garsila

    “On the first night I had to endure five men who raped me, the second night I was raped by three men. The third night I managed to escape with one of the others. I do not know what happened to the third women, the wife of I. who was with us.” -K, aged 23, from Ibek
    This is happening now, in our time and on our watch, so to speak.  And so, we – at least I – cannot remain silent.  I cannot condone the rape (or the killing of the men either) of women as an act of war by my silence. Since going to Darfur and forcibly stopping the rape of women is not actually an option for me, I do what I little I can. Write letters, make phone calls. And let you all know too that you must help. Go to SaveDarfur.org.

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

