Posted by: turtlebella | 29 August 2006

3 Meme

As has been under discussion over at Phantom‘s, I’ve been feeling rather un-creative lately as far as blogging is concerned. Therefore, I am quite happy when a new-to-me meme comes along that I can do. This one is a 3 things thing. And actually, this is harder for me to do than one would think, some things I have a hard time coming up with three things. For example, took a bit of soul searching to come up with three things that scare me. I dunno why, I mean, I’m not a particularly brave person! Anyway, I saw this over at ScienceWoman‘s.

1. Three things that scare me:

  • Suddenly coming upon large spiders or other insects, especially in my bed
  • Wandering through my life without a plan
  • Being pregnant


2. Three people that make me laugh:

  • Bill Bryson
  • PG Wodehouse
  • Dorothy Parker

3. Three things I hate the most:

  • Racism, classicism, homophobia, oh hell, any kind of discrimination
  • Union-busting
  • Rampant, unchecked capitalism

4. Three things I don’t understand:

  • Why anyone still thinks Bush is going a good job
  • War
  • String Theory and Eternity (I know that’s cheating, listing 4 things but both these last two concepts are equally unfathomable to me!)

5. Three things I’m doing right now:

  • Eating my lunch (lemon-sesame chicken and rice)
  • Wishing I had dessert
  • Writing this meme. DUH!

6. Three things I want to do before I die:

  • Travel a lot more…for example, see Roman ruins in Libya, Croatia, Sicily, more in Italy, see the Mayan ruins in Guatemala, the Incan ruins in Peru…we like ancient civilizations and ruins, can you tell?
  • Have children
  • Drive a race car or fly a plane

7. Three things I can do:

  • Knit
  • Do crosswords (although I rarely finish them; that’s the sqvirrel’s job and perogative)
  • Navigate a foreign city


8. Three ways to describe my personality:

  • Whacky sense of humor
  • Highly emotional
  • Fiercely loyal

9. Three things I can’t do:

  • Touch the tip of my nose with my tongue
  • Purl
  • Take criticism in a non-personal way

10. Three things I think you should listen to:

  • Pandora (this was in ScienceWoman’s 3 meme and I did listen to it, and it’s great!)
  • Your intuition
  • Your heart (if different from your intuition)

11. Three things you should never listen to:

  • Emotional blackmail
  • Any criticisms from your mother
  • Bush and/or Cheney

12. Three things I’d like to learn:

  • How to not take things so personally all the time
  • How not to cry at the drop of a hat
  • How to do anything on my computer but the most basic things

13. Three favourite foods:

  • Coriander chicken in yoghurt sauce
  • Portuguese Tomato Rice
  • Ice cream (coffee, butter pecan, and Baskin & Robin’s peanut butter and chocolate)

14. Three beverages I drink regularly:

  • Water
  • Beer
  • Cranberry juice mixed with seltzer

15. Three shows I watched as a kid:

  • Captain Kangaroo
  • 3-2-1 Contact
  • Electric Company



Responses

  1. glad you enjoyed (and took up) the meme and Pandora. I’m going to have to go check out the discussion you mentioned at Phantom’s – my blogging of late has been rather lackluster – I hope it’s just the diss. Best of luck getting out of your funk.

  2. 3 shows I watched (and loved): Knight Rider; Greatest American Hero; The A-Team. Ah, 80s television….

    Interesting– first I’ve heard about the race car or plane thing!

  3. Stumbled here by an odd path, but, wow – that could’ve been my entry (but I can’t knit).

    How not to take things personally is ambitious. I’ve given up. I just can’t change. I try to distract myself with something when it gets bad.

  4. well, yes, i’ve always wanted to drive a race car, really fast on a race track. just seems like it would be fun!

    and you know I LOVED Greatest American Hero too!

    dave, probably I can’t change taking things personally either. It’s quite hard…ah well.

  5. I loooooooved 3-2-1 Contact! And anytime you want to come over and watch the Electric Company DVD with me, just ring the doorbell and come on in, OK?

    I am going to copy out your answers to #11 and repeat them as my new mantra.

  6. LOVED 3-2-1 Contact, too! My favorite part was at the end of some episodes was a little series-within-the-series, The Bloodhound Gang. Kind of a group of kid detectives solving mysteries.

  7. I’ve got a fairly decent grasp on the basics of string theory and infinity. But that Bush thing? Total mystery.

  8. Cool! kabababrubarta


Leave a Reply

Categories

