Posted by: turtlebella | 14 April 2006

Booking Through Thursday

I saw this today on Books in Bed and so while I guess it was a meme meant for Thursday I’m going to do it on Friday anyway. Cos I love writing about, thinking about, talking about, and finally (BUT NOT LAST IN MY HEART), reading books.

Booking Through Thursday

Reach out a hand, and grab the book that is closest to you. Turn to page 231, or pick a page at random if the book isn’t that long. Locate the first sentence of the last paragraph on that page.

  1. Type the sentence here: From American Purgatorio (John Haskell)… During the ride, instead of excitement, I feel nostalgia.
  2. Does the sentence make sense out of context? Literally it makes sense. But of course it would make more sense if I knew what kind of ride…a roller-coaster is my guess.
  3. Does reading the sentence make you want to read the rest of the book? Why or why not? Does it count that I’ve already started the book? Otherwise why would it have been located near me? But the sentence is pretty reflective of the book, although I’m only on page 46 and page 231 is near the end. There’s a sort of hyper-consciousness about the narrator that’s a bit grating, especially when the narrator has no idea what is happening to him. I’m not sure I’ll make it to page 231.

Responses

  1. I turned around to do this, but all of the books near to me are law books for my research, and I dread to think what kind of lines I’d find on page 231 of them! So, I’ll try to remember to do this meme when I’m sitting nearer to some more interesting books! :)

  2. OK I really like this line – we talk a lot about nostalgia around here. I think I’m going to hold onto that one sentence and do some writing exercises with my homeschooled teenager around it.

    Thank you very much.

  3. 1. “They are all crying intensely, the dependable father whose center is the source of all order, who could not overlook or sanction the smallest sign of chaos– for whom keeping chaos far at bay had been intuition’s chosen path to certainty, the rigorous daily given of life– and the daughter who is chaos itself.”

    –American Pastoral, by Philip Roth.

    2. It happens to be the last sentence of its chapter, so sure, it more or less makes sense.

    3. Well, the book has been on my reading list for a long time. I’ve liked what I’ve read of Roth (especially The Plot Against America, which is really good, and somewhat less so The Human Stain) so I will get ’round to this one eventually. This long sentence seems just a bit overwrought, so I’d say it doesn’t really affect my intention to read the book one way or the other.

  4. with posts like this how long before we give up the newspaper?!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

